Frank Retzel

Summer Songs

The Poplar is the third of six songs in Summer Songs. The complete cycle uses texts of Edna St. Vincent Millay.
Robert Frost and, for The Poplar, a poem of Seamus Heaney, from The Spirit Level, Farrar, Strauss, Giroux: 1996.
Used with permission.

Copyright 1996 Frank Retzel (APNM-BMI)

Summer Songs for soprano and piano ---- from a live concert at LeFrak Concert Hall
Queens College, CUNY (LICA Concert)
November 18, 2004
Elizabeth Farnum, soprano
Lin Li, pianist
(Please allow a few moments for the files to download, this will depend on the speed of your internet connection)
I ---- Afternoon on a Hill (Edna St. Vincent Millay)
II --- Tavern (Millay)
III -- The Poplar (Seamus Heaney)
IV -- Colours and Rhymes (Millay)
V --- There Is a Singer (Robert Frost)
VI -- Warm Touch/Warm Thought (Vocalese - Song Without Words)

All texts used with permission.

All Music -- Copyright FRANK RETZEL (APNM - BMI)